Archive for Sunday, December 2, 1990


December 2, 1990


Republicans elected Scott Morgan of Lawrence as 2nd District chairman during a meeting Saturday at the Leavenworth Country Club in Lansing.

Morgan defeated Lawrence dentist Pat Moriarity by a vote of 79-6. The race was the only contested election for positions on the 2nd District executive committee.

Republicans chose Cheryl Logan, Topeka, as vice chairman. Morgan and Logan will be on the executive committee involved in choosing the next chairman of the state Republican Party when the party holds its state convention in January.

Morgan, who lost in a bid to unseat Democratic U.S. Rep. Jim Slattery in November, said he was happy to be chosen chairman.

"This year, the Republican Party will be going through some changes, and, as 2nd District chairman, I'll be in a position to take part in the changes," he said.

Maurgarite Strange of Leavenworth was elected secretary of the executive committee and Ron Scheffler was chosen treasurer.

Republicans also elected 22 delegates and 22 alternates to the state convention. Douglas County delegates chosen were Rep.-elect Sandy Praeger, R-Lawrence; Chris Miller, Douglas County Republican chairman; and Rep. David Miller, R-Eudora.

Alternates elected from Douglas County included Martha Parker, Bernie Norwood and Michael Todd.

Morgan said 2nd District Republicans also passed a resolution sponsored by Parker to begin a letter-writing campaign to soldiers deployed to the Middle East as part of Operation Desert Shield.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.