Archive for Tuesday, August 21, 1990


August 21, 1990


The leadership in the Douglas County Republican Party remains the same, despite the addition of new members to the party's central committee.

The Douglas County GOP Central Committee on Monday held its first meeting since the Aug. 7 primary, in which a number of first-time representatives were elected as members to the central committee.

Precinct committee members are elected to two-year terms by party members and are responsible for helping to develop the party platform. They also elect the party's county leadership.

During the meeting, the precinct committee members unanimously re-elected, by acclaim, the entire slate of officers that has led the local GOP for the past year.

Chris Miller, a local attorney, was re-elected as Douglas County GOP chairman. His name was placed in nomination by Ted Fay, who said Miller "knows government and knows politics. He's done a good job in this town for the Republican Party."

Rejoining Miller on the leadership council are: Sandy Praeger, who will again serve as vice chair; Grace Marion, secretary; and Phil Bradley, treasurer.

There had been speculation among some party members that a group of new precinct committee members might try a takeover of the local party apparatus. Bernice Todd, who has served nearly 20 years as a precinct committeewoman, said prior to the election that a group of candidates linked to the pro-life crusade were seeking positions on the central committee, and "we think maybe they're trying to take over our county organization."

No such takeover materialized Monday.

In addition to electing its leadership, central committee members also elected delegates to the 2nd District Republican convention, which is to be held this fall.

Delegates to the convention from Douglas County will be: John Watkins, Mike Todd, Ron Todd, Bernie Norwood, Pat Moriarty, Ted Fay, Dean Burkhead, Ken Martinez, Bettie-Lou Metsker, Bernice Todd, Vern Norwood, Carolyn Moriarty, Melissa Watkins, Sheila Martinez, Lisa Hicks and Martha Parker.

Praeger, a candidate for the Kansas Legislature, and Miller will lead the Douglas County delegation to the 2nd District convention, which meets to select delegates to the state GOP convention.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.