Archive for Sunday, April 29, 1990


April 29, 1990


Two Journal-World staff members were among winners in the Kansas Press Women Communications Contest. Awards were announced at the KPW spring meeting held Saturday in Marysville.

Ann Gardner, J-W editorial page editor, received first-place awards for single pages regularly edited and for page layout in newspapers under 30,000 circulation, and second- and third-place awards for editorials written for newspapers in the same circulation category.

Nancy Smith, J-W variety editor, received a first-place award and an honorable mention for features stories in newspapers under 30,000 circulation.

Five other area residents also received awards at Saturday's ceremony.

Carol Francis of Carol Francis Communications in Lawrence, received first-place awards for black and white newspaper display advertising, a single radio commercial and speeches; second-place honors for black and white newspaper display advertising and color newspaper display advertising; and third-place awards for black and white newspaper display advertising, color newspaper advertising and a single radio commercial.

KAREN BREEN, of Allen Press Inc., receved an honorable mention for direct mail marketing, advertising.

Barbara Joseph, who works for Associated Press in Topeka, received a first for feature stories for general or specialized circulation, second for special science of health articles, third for special business articles and honorable mention for news reporting for newspapers of 30,000 or more.

Sherry Pigg, who works for the Topeka Capital-Journal, received a third-place award for news reporting.

Nora Cleland, Baldwin, who works for Kansas University, received first-place awards for sections or supplements, internal publication, and for non-profit newsletters.

A TOTAL OF 77 KPW members submitted 354 entries in the contest, which is recognizes excellence in the work of media professionals. Entries were judged by journalism school faculty members at the University of Tennessee in Knoxville and by Dave Knau, director of public relations for the North American Division of Pioneer Hi-Bred International in Des Moines.

First-place entries will advance to national competition and results will be announced in June, during the National Federation of Press Women convention in New Mexico.

KPW also named two lifetime patron members Saturday. The new patrons are Ann Jeter of Hays, and Margie Braden of Clay Center.

KPW patron members are women who have distinguished themselves through civic and social leadership in their community and state and make contributions to a journalism scholarship program administered by KPW.

JETER, KNOWN for her commitment to the arts, currently is a member of the Governor's Council on the Arts and the Mid-America Arts Alliance Board. She also is member of the Lied Center steering committee at Kansas University and a past president of the Kansas Arts Commission.

Braden is chairman of the Kansas Eisenhower Centennial Commission. She is a partner with her husband in Braden Financial Services and has been executive director of the Kansas Manufactured Housing Institute. She also is a past president of the Emporia board of education and helped organize the Kansas Legal Assistants Society.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.