Archive for Sunday, April 1, 1990


April 1, 1990


A Lawrence High School senior has been named the 1990 recipient of the $1,000 Wal-Mart Foundation Community Scholarship and two Jefferson County students are alternates for the scholarship.

The winner, Jae Yoon Jung, a Lawrence High senior, was recently announced by Bobby Jones, manager of the Lawrence Wal-Mart store, 2727 Iowa. Jung plans to attend Stanford University, Palo Alto, Calif.

First alternate for the scholarship is Jeremy Ostrander and second alternate is Louis Funk. Ostrander and Funk are both seniors at Jefferson County North High School in Winchester. An earlier story in the Journal-World incorrectly reported that Ostrander and Funk are Lawrence High students.

The scholarship is awarded each spring by Wal-Mart to an area college- or university-bound high school senior and is payable over a one-year period.

The Lawrence Wal-Mart Community Scholarship is one of more than 1,300 scholarships given throughout 27 states where Wal-Mart stores are located.

Scholarships are given on the basis of academic performance, school and community involvement and financial need.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.