Archive for Tuesday, October 24, 1989


October 24, 1989


Following an interview selection process starting today, the list Kansas University faculty who are candidates for the 1989 HOPE award will be reduced to five finalists.

The names of the five finalists will be announced Nov. 1 and 2, and seniors will vote again to determine the winner.

The HOPE award, which stands for Honors for Outstanding Progressive Educator, is awarded annually by the Board of Class Officers.

KU seniors nominated 73 professors for the HOPE award last week, and the ten highest vote totals determined the semifinalists for the honor.

The ten semifinalists for the 1989 HOPE award are:

Jeffrey Aube, School of Pharmacy; Tim Bengtson, School of Journalism; Daryl Evans, department of sociology; Herman Leon, School of Social Welfare; Craig Martin, department of biology; Steven McCabe, School of Engineering; Tim Mitchell, department of art history; Dennis Sander, School of Architecture and Urban Design; Evelyn Swartz, School of Education; and Bedru Yimer, School of Engineering.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.