Archive for Thursday, December 21, 1989


December 21, 1989


— The Kansas City Chiefs will be well represented in the Pro Bowl Game on Feb. 4 in Honolulu. Four Chiefs have been named to the AFC team, and three were selected to start. Elected as starters in voting by players and coaches were running back Christian Okoye, outside linebacker Derrick Thomas and cornerback Albert Lewis. Cornerback Kevin Ross was picked as a reserve.

Okoye, Thomas and Ross will be making their first Pro Bowl appearances. It's the third selection for Lewis.

Six-time Pro Bowl free safety Deron Cherry was selected as an alternate, but he would be unable to play after undergoing knee surgery Wednesday.

Third-year pro Okoye leads the league in rushing with 1,382 yards and has run for 11 touchdowns.

Thomas, who has recorded 10 sacks in his rookie season, is one of two rookies named as a starter. The other is Detroit running back Barry Sanders.

Ross leads the Chiefs in interceptions with four, followed by Lewis with three.

Minnesota, with seven, had the most players selected. Cincinnati led with AFC with six selections.

New York Giants linebacker Lawrence Taylor and Cincinnati tackle Anthony Munoz each were named for the ninth straight year.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.