Archive for Wednesday, December 20, 1989


December 20, 1989


Kansas University aerospace students will receive national awards during the Jan. 8-10 meeting of the American Institute for Aeronautics and Astronautics, in Reno, Nev.

KU students won first and second place in the AIAA/General Dynamics Team Aircraft Design Competition. The first-place team receives $1,000 and the second-place team, $500.

KU aerospace student engineering teams have won first place in the competition for four consecutive years.

First-place team captains Paul Borchers, Prairie Village, and Linda Witt, Lincoln, Neb., will speak about their winning proposal at the meeting. Borchers is a graduate student, and Witt, a spring 1989 graduate.

KU's teams entered preliminary studies of a low-cost export fighter plane. The first-place entry was described as a revolutionary design for a supersonic export fighter with forward-swept wings, said Jan Roskam, Deane E. Ackers distinguished professor of aerospace engineering at KU. The first-place team estimated that its plane, Ares, could be produced for $11.1 million per plane on a production order of 500 planes.

The $1,000 first prize will be divided evenly among the team's seven members, Borchers said.

The other members are Chris John Hardin, Lawrence, aerospace engineering graduate student; Paul Darrah, Lenexa, aerospace engineering graduate; Kenneth Elton Polnicky, Wichita, aerospace engineering graduate student; Bryan Scot Wescoat, Red Cloud, Neb., aerospace engineering graduate; Brian William Cox, Mapleton Depot, Pa., aerospace engineering graduate student.

Commenting has been disabled for this item.