Kansas City Symphony performs world premiere of American Symphony


  • Categories: Classical
  • Event posted: Feb. 18, 2011
  • Last updated: Sept. 16, 2014

Event details

Michael Stern welcomes return of acclaimed pianist Jonathan Biss

(Kansas City, MO) – You’ll feel the electricity in the air with the world premiere of American composer Adam Schoenberg’s American Symphony, commissioned by the Kansas City Symphony. Jonathan Biss performs Brahms’ First Piano Concerto, a work whose massive size and uncompromising nature baffled critics at its premiere. Since then, this emotional work, imbued with folk dance and rhythmic elements, has remained a lasting favorite. The rousing overture to Wagner’s Rienzi is dark and tragically noble—filled with stunning brass and expansive melodies.

Performances are scheduled for: Friday-Saturday, March 4-5 at 8pm | Lyric Theatre, 11th & Central in downtown KCMO Sunday, March 6 at 7:30pm | Lied Center, Lawrence, Kan.

Michael Stern, music director Jonathan Biss, piano

WAGNER Overture to Rienzi ADAM SCHOENBERG American Symphony (world premiere, KCS commission) BRAHMS Piano Concerto No. 1

Tickets, $10-$58, are available by calling 816.471.0400 or online at kcsymphony.org. Box office hours are Monday-Friday 10am-5pm. (Call 785.864.2787 for tickets for the Lied Center performance.)


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment