Advertisement

Discussions

Reader comments

On Lawhorn's Lawrence: A night of partying in Oread

Comments

Carol Bowen 11 months ago

The picture is not what I would use as an image for a university. It's not good for the public or my grandchildren. Some of us think higher education is serious business. It costs the family a lot of money. Our kids need to study. Yes, they should have fun, but this picture should accompany an article on student drinking problems. No wonder KU is considered a party school.

seventeen 11 months ago

I really struggle with what I did as a kid and what I'd like to see as a parent. I'm young enough to remember everything pretty clearly, but old enough to be terrified in regard to my kids. Life is about balance. I don't know how successful I am at balancing my struggle, but the "kids" outlined in this article are achieving it. It makes me want to head back to Wheel later today...

Hudson Luce 11 months ago

Back in 1981, when I graduated from KU, I went to a house party where a bunch of punk rock bands were playing - one of them could have been the Mortal Micronotz, but I don't recall for sure, memories are fuzzy, not least due to the fact that there were four kegs of beer - ice cold - there in addition to clouds of pot smoke. One of the highlights of the evening - or early morning - occurred when some guy rode his motorcycle up the stairs, all 650 pounds or whatever of it and him, all the way up to the second floor. Oddly enough, the house is still standing, still has students living in it. It's the house on Tennessee Street, on the corner of 11th or 12th street, with the diagonal square window on the south side.

Jake Angermeier 11 months ago

Damn, Chad. Sounds like you were partying with my grandma. Kids these days are such amatuers...

Patricia Davis 11 months ago