Advertisement

Discussions

Reader comments

On Statehouse Live: Battle begins in House over public unions

Comments

Larry Sturm 1 year, 10 months ago

Kansas chamber of commerce needs to stay out of politics.

just_another_bozo_on_this_bus 1 year, 10 months ago

They certainly have no right to prevent others from enjoying the same rights of participation that they expect for themselves, which is what this bill seeks to do.

Greg Cooper 1 year, 10 months ago

As a matter of fact, the purpose of unions is exactly that of the PACs of the world. Why do you, in your clearly non-partisan way of thinking (NOT), believe that a huge number of workers who pay taxes and vote not be allowed the same right?

cellogrl 1 year, 10 months ago

I'm a teacher and a union member and I was never pressured to join. Union membership is voluntary. Why so they feel the need to protect us from ourselves? They don't. They don't like that we aren't silent on issues that affect us and/or our students.

Mike1949 1 year, 10 months ago

It is a matter of taking away freedom. That is what the republican party is all about. Dictatorship!

"We've received a lot of stories about that,"

And I'll bet that none of those supposedly telling all of these stories will be called to testify, nor will those accused of putting all this pressure on be allowed to give their version of what happened, likely because it wasn't much more than handing someone a brochure that stated the benefits to teachers of maintaining an effective union.

chootspa 1 year, 10 months ago

Or "we heard a lot of stories about that" was just that. Stories. My cousin's cousin's wife's aunt's dog's former owner's niece said she heard some teachers were pressured to join.

jhawkinsf 1 year, 10 months ago

I'm all for private sector unions, if that's what the people want. Not so much public sector unions.